I think I'm losing my mind

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 06:20

I have a feed http://blogs.technet.com/b/privatecloud/rss.aspx in my tt-rss install, which appears to have content from http://blogs.technet.com/b/ponicke/ in it

I'm running v1.11.d31d521

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 06:22

On deleting the feed and adding it again, it now has the correct content in it again

I haven't a clue what happened.

If it happens again, I'll try and remember to collect up logs rather than just deleting the feed and adding it again.

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 06:25

okay, I've got another one

a feed with http://blogs.technet.com/b/askds/rss.aspx but appears to have the content from http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/rss.aspx

I'll leave this one in place till somebody more capable then myself can tell me where I can find the appropriate logs

Cheers

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby sleeper_service » 28 Dec 2013, 06:36

have you considered seeking professional help? perhaps they can help you find your mind? :)

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 06:39

I'd settle for finding the logs :-)

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 06:59

I'm using update_daemon2.php /var/log/ttrssupdater.log is empty, hence the comment about finding the logs

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 07:07

in addition to the first one that was "fixed" by deleting and re-adding it, I've got 4 more feeds where the contents of the feed in tt-rss is from a completely different feed.

well, not completely different, all of the affected feeds are on http://blogs.technet.com as are all of the feeds that have replaced them.

I do have af_feedmod enabled, but I don't have an entry that covers any of these feeds, I don't think I have anything else installed that could be doing this to a feed.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby sleeper_service » 28 Dec 2013, 07:25

what are these logs you speak of? you could tell update_daemon2.php to run in a verbose mode and that'd give you logs.

I've no clue what your /var/log/ttrssupdater.log is, cuz that's not part of the standard distribution.

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 07:47

I've got a feeling that the /var/log/ttrssupdater is just being rotated, I'm running git trunk, not from a package.

How would I start update_daemon2.php to run in verbose mode ?

I'm currently starting it as a service (Ubuntu 12.04) with

Code: Select all

description "tt-rss updater"
start on started mysql
stop on stopping mysql
respawn
respawn limit 2 1
setuid www-data
setgid www-data
exec /var/www/tt-rss/update_daemon2.php

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby sleeper_service » 28 Dec 2013, 08:56

don't run it in quiet mode?

perhaps you've never run it standalone and watched how much it spews out.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby fox » 28 Dec 2013, 11:15

mysql + myisam tables?

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 16:29

I stopped running update_daemon2.php and ran

./update.php --force-update --log /var/log/ttrssmanual.log
then
./update.php --feeds --log /var/log/ttrssmanual.log

Code: Select all

[12:07:11/7251] Lock: update.lock
[12:07:11/7251] marking all feeds as needing update...
[12:08:26/7414] Lock: update.lock
[12:08:26/7414] Scheduled 96 feeds to update...


then had a log full of entries like

Code: Select all

[12:09:25/7414] Base feed: http://blogs.technet.com/b/askds/rss.aspx
[12:09:25/7414]  => 1970-01-01 00:00:00, 17 2


which ended in

Code: Select all

[12:14:24/7414] All done.
[12:14:24/7414] cache/simplepie: removed 0 files.
[12:14:24/7414] cache/images: removed 0 files.
[12:14:24/7414] cache/export: removed 0 files.
[12:14:24/7414] cache/upload: removed 0 files.
[12:14:24/7414] Removed 0 old lock files.
[12:14:24/7414] Removing old error log entries...
[12:14:24/7414] Feedbrowser updated, 0 feeds processed.
[12:14:25/7414] Purged 8 orphaned posts.
[12:14:26/7414] Cleaned 0 cached tags.


I'm guessing I need a more verbose option

The database is MySQL with InnoDB

Code: Select all

mysql> SELECT table_name FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLES   WHERE engine = 'MyISAM';
+---------------------------+
| table_name                |
+---------------------------+
| COLUMNS                   |
| EVENTS                    |
| PARAMETERS                |
| PARTITIONS                |
| PLUGINS                   |
| PROCESSLIST               |
| ROUTINES                  |
| TRIGGERS                  |
| VIEWS                     |
| columns_priv              |
| db                        |
| event                     |
| func                      |
| help_category             |
| help_keyword              |
| help_relation             |
| help_topic                |
| host                      |
| ndb_binlog_index          |
| plugin                    |
| proc                      |
| procs_priv                |
| proxies_priv              |
| servers                   |
| tables_priv               |
| time_zone                 |
| time_zone_leap_second     |
| time_zone_name            |
| time_zone_transition      |
| time_zone_transition_type |
| user                      |
+---------------------------+
31 rows in set (0.00 sec)

mysql> SELECT table_name FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.TABLES   WHERE engine = 'InnoDB';
+--------------------------+
| table_name               |
+--------------------------+
| ttrss_access_keys        |
| ttrss_archived_feeds     |
| ttrss_cat_counters_cache |
| ttrss_counters_cache     |
| ttrss_enclosures         |
| ttrss_entries            |
| ttrss_entry_comments     |
| ttrss_error_log          |
| ttrss_feed_categories    |
| ttrss_feedbrowser_cache  |
| ttrss_feeds              |
| ttrss_filter_actions     |
| ttrss_filter_types       |
| ttrss_filters2           |
| ttrss_filters2_actions   |
| ttrss_filters2_rules     |
| ttrss_labels2            |
| ttrss_linked_feeds       |
| ttrss_linked_instances   |
| ttrss_plugin_storage     |
| ttrss_prefs              |
| ttrss_prefs_sections     |
| ttrss_prefs_types        |
| ttrss_sessions           |
| ttrss_settings_profiles  |
| ttrss_tags               |
| ttrss_user_entries       |
| ttrss_user_labels2       |
| ttrss_user_prefs         |
| ttrss_users              |
| ttrss_version            |
+--------------------------+
31 rows in set (0.01 sec)

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 18:16

not sure if it's any help, but I did f shifht d on one of the "problem" feeds

the feed URL is http://blogs.technet.com/b/askds/rss.aspx

the f shift d output is here http://pastebin.com/2i638biw

the top article in the feed has the URL http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinov ... 43763.aspx

I added the feed that this would have come from (it wasn't previously in my tt-rss) http://blogs.technet.com/b/markrussinovich/rss.aspx and it shows no entries, the output from f shift d from that feed is here http://pastebin.com/axnQmFwv

It's as if some of the technet feeds are being substituted somewhere, but I'm at a loss as to where.

if there was a SQL command I could run to disable updates for all feeds, I could then manually enable updates for the problem feeds and do a packet capture if that would help at all.

AngryChris
Bear Rating Master
Bear Rating Master
Posts: 135
Joined: 08 Apr 2013, 02:42

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby AngryChris » 28 Dec 2013, 18:57

thermionic wrote:if there was a SQL command I could run to disable updates for all feeds, I could then manually enable updates for the problem feeds and do a packet capture if that would help at all.

You're in luck! There is such a SQL statement!

Code: Select all

ttrssdb=> UPDATE ttrss_feeds SET update_interval='-1';

This should disable updates for every feed in the database. Add a WHERE clause if you want to limit it to just your feeds or whatever. Here are my disabled feeds as an example:

Code: Select all

ttrssdb=> select owner_uid, title, update_interval from ttrss_feeds where update_interval < '0';
 owner_uid |           title            | update_interval
-----------+----------------------------+-----------------
         2 | Vienna Developer Blog      |              -1
         2 | Vienna Support             |              -1
(2 rows)

ttrssdb=>

You can set them all back to the default interval thusly:

Code: Select all

ttrssdb=> UPDATE ttrss_feeds SET update_interval='0';

thermionic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 42
Joined: 15 May 2013, 13:50

Re: I think I'm losing my mind

Postby thermionic » 28 Dec 2013, 23:52

I disabled updates on all feeds, and then enabled updates one of the feeds with the "wrong" content http://blogs.technet.com/b/mfugatt/rss.aspx

The packet capture is here http://www.cloudshark.org/captures/6c5b7f40e3c7 As can be seen on line 78, the GET is correct

I'd be happy to do any more investigation, but I think I'm going to just delete each feed and then add it again.

Fox, I can send you a zipped database dump (~18Mb) if you're interested in investigating further.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests