Label options not showing in context menu

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
srdress
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Apr 2017, 19:11

Label options not showing in context menu

Postby srdress » 03 Apr 2017, 19:39

Long time TT-RSS user, first time problem-haver.

I use TT-RSS for work and we're migrating to a new hosting provider. Unfortunately TT-RSS install at the new provider doesn't show label options (add label/remove label) in the right-click context menu anymore. Oddly, this problem occurs in Chrome and Explorer, but not Firefox. I'd normally be okay with a workaround of "derrrp use Firefox" except I can't install programs, even browsers, on my work machine, so I'm stuck.

Problem occurs with all Chrome extensions turned off. Since it's happening in IE I'm left to think it's not a specific browser issue but would be happy if wrong.

Previous install environment - Dreamhost VPS
New install environment - Cloudways using DigitalOcean

What I did - Fresh install of TT-RSS from Git on Cloudways/Digital Ocean server. Exported OPML from previous install (Dreamhost VPS, I do not recall the version number but it was older than the Cloudways install); successfully imported to Cloudways install. Successfully exported all articles from previous install to new using plugin. Installed Feedly theme from Git.

Thank you for any insight you can provide!


Platform/version: Tiny Tiny RSS v17.1 (78fee22), Debian 3.16.36-1+deb8u2 (2016-10-19) x86_64 GNU/Linux, mysql, php 5.6.3

Logs, not sure if relevant, my apologies:

E_USER_ERROR (256) classes/db/mysqli.php:34

Query UPDATE ttrss_user_entries SET unread = false, last_read = NOW() WHERE ref_id IN (SELECT id FROM (SELECT DISTINCT id FROM ttrss_entries, ttrss_user_entries WHERE ref_id = id AND owner_uid = 1 AND score >= 0 AND unread = true AND true AND date_entered > DATE_SUB(NOW(), INTERVAL 24 HOUR) AND true) as tmp) failed: Deadlock found when trying to get lock; try restarting transaction
1. classes/db/mysqli.php(34): user_error(Query UPDATE ttrss_user_entries
SET unread = false, last_read = NOW() WHERE ref_id IN
(SELECT id FROM
(SELECT DISTINCT id FROM ttrss_entries, ttrss_user_entries WHERE ref_id = id
AND owner_uid = 1 AND score >= 0 AND unread = true AND true AND date_entered > DATE_SUB(NOW(),
INTERVAL 24 HOUR) AND true) as tmp) failed: Deadlock found when trying to get lock; try restarting transaction, 256)
2. classes/db.php(66): query(UPDATE ttrss_user_entries
SET unread = false, last_read = NOW() WHERE ref_id IN
(SELECT id FROM
(SELECT DISTINCT id FROM ttrss_entries, ttrss_user_entries WHERE ref_id = id
AND owner_uid = 1 AND score >= 0 AND unread = true AND true AND date_entered > DATE_SUB(NOW(),
INTERVAL 24 HOUR) AND true) as tmp), 1)
3. include/db.php(8): query(UPDATE ttrss_user_entries
SET unread = false, last_read = NOW() WHERE ref_id IN
(SELECT id FROM
(SELECT DISTINCT id FROM ttrss_entries, ttrss_user_entries WHERE ref_id = id
AND owner_uid = 1 AND score >= 0 AND unread = true AND true AND date_entered > DATE_SUB(NOW(),
INTERVAL 24 HOUR) AND true) as tmp), 1)
4. include/functions.php(1273): db_query(UPDATE ttrss_user_entries
SET unread = false, last_read = NOW() WHERE ref_id IN
(SELECT id FROM
(SELECT DISTINCT id FROM ttrss_entries, ttrss_user_entries WHERE ref_id = id
AND owner_uid = 1 AND score >= 0 AND unread = true AND true AND date_entered > DATE_SUB(NOW(),
INTERVAL 24 HOUR) AND true) as tmp))
5. classes/rpc.php(456): catchup_feed(-3, , , , , Array)
6. backend.php(123): catchupFeed()

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Label options not showing in context menu

Postby fox » 03 Apr 2017, 21:55

i'm not sure but it might be necessary to have categories enabled for this context menu to show up

srdress
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Apr 2017, 19:11

Re: Label options not showing in context menu

Postby srdress » 14 Apr 2017, 00:11

That did the trick, on a fresh install at least. Which gives me something to go on, so thank you!

My current install has a ton of labels already created, and adding a new one didn't seem to give it a kick in the pants. I may end up recreating my install entirely. Tedious, but worth it.

Appreciate the assistance :)

bastage
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 18 Mar 2013, 23:11

Re: Label options not showing in context menu

Postby bastage » 15 Apr 2017, 00:56

Hi srdress,
I'd be curious if you find the cause since I've noticed the issue too but I don't use labels too extensively so it hadn't turned into enough of a pain to start digging in on.

Thanks ..!

mrflible
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: 03 Aug 2013, 13:24

Re: Label options not showing in context menu

Postby mrflible » 18 Apr 2017, 18:00

Hello, same "problem"

Creating new category not helped, renaming helped ( Chrome).
But it did not help in IE and Edge

Screenshots:
Chrome:
https://ctrlv.cz/VYqv

IE:
https://ctrlv.cz/6n4E

Edge:
https://ctrlv.cz/FQur

My version: b8f23d6 but the problem was in the previous 78fee22

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Label options not showing in context menu

Postby fox » 18 Apr 2017, 18:37

i'm not sure wtf you guys are doing but it works just fine in edge

Image

the only requirement (like i said above) is having categories enabled because that's where the data is coming from, labels category in the feed list.

mrflible
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: 03 Aug 2013, 13:24

Re: Label options not showing in context menu

Postby mrflible » 18 Apr 2017, 20:51

fox: Thanks
I think I've figured out what's the trick

Tested in IE:
If I copy and paste to new tab my tiny tiny url https://blabla:1234 then labels menu is missing (and I'm redirected to https://blabla:1234/#f=-3&c=0 (fresh articles)
I don't have any labels in fresh articles

If I copy and paste to new tab url: https://blabla:/#f=-6&c=0 - label menu is visible (this url leads to "Recently read" and I have labels on some articles in this folder)

So to gel labels in menu - I need to go into folder with feeds containing labels, hit F5 and go to another folder to get context menu.
If this theory is true, it would explain the odd behavior when the menu appears really very random

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Label options not showing in context menu

Postby fox » 18 Apr 2017, 21:16

i'm entirely not interested in any bug reports concerning MSIE

mrflible
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: 03 Aug 2013, 13:24

Re: Label options not showing in context menu

Postby mrflible » 18 Apr 2017, 22:58

MSIE I mentioned just for accuracy. I replicated the same behavior in the Edge.
Behavior in chrome is a little more random

But I think it should be replicable
1.) on TTRSS go to folder/feed without labels
2.) copy web url
3.) paste url in new anonymous window and log in
3.) label menu in context menu should not be visible
(I managed this in IE and Chrome Edge)


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests